CENTRAL BEDFORDSHIRE COUNCIL

At a meeting of the **COUNCIL** held in the Council Chamber, Priory House, Monks Walk, Shefford on Thursday, 18 May 2017.

PRESENT

Cllr D Bowater (Chairman)
Cllr Mrs C F Chapman MBE (Vice-Chairman)

Clirs	Mrs A Barker R D Berry M C Blair A D Brown J Chatterley Mrs S Clark K M Collins N B Costin I Dalgarno Cllr S Dixon Mrs A L Dodwell P Downing P A Duckett K Ferguson F Firth	Cllrs	Ms A M W Graham Cllr Mrs C Hegley P Hollick J G Jamieson K Janes J Kane D J Lawrence Mrs J G Lawrence Cllr M Liddiard K C Matthews D McVicar R Morris T Nicols G Perham	Cllrs	B Saunders J A G Saunders D Shelvey I Shingler Mrs T Stock T Swain A M Turner M A G Versallion N Warren Cllr S Watkins B Wells R D Wenham J N Young A Zerny
	E Ghent		A Ryan		

Apologies for Absence

Cllrs	Mrs J Freeman	Cllrs	Ms C Maudlin	Cllrs	G Tubb
	C C Gomm		P Smith		B Walker
	Mrs D B Gurney		B J Spurr		T Woodward
	R W Johnstone		R C Stay		

Officers:	Mr Q Baker	 AD Legal Services (Monitoring 		
		Officer)		

Mr R Carr – Chief Executive

Mr M Coiffait– Director of Community ServicesMr D Galvin– Head of Financial PerformanceMrs S Hobbs– Senior Committee Services OfficerMr G Jones– Deputy Director Safeguarding and

Early Help

Mr T Keaveney – Assistant Director Housing

Services

Mr L Manning – Committee Services Officer

Assistant Director of Public Health

C/17/1 Prayers

Mrs C Shohet

Prayers were taken by the Reverend Dr Bernard Minton, Team Vicar of Linslade.

C/17/2 Election of Chairman 2017/18

The outgoing Chairman invited nominations for the office of Chairman of the Council for the municipal year 2017/18. Councillor Fiona Chapman was duly proposed and seconded. There were no other nominations.

RESOLVED

that Councillor Mrs Chapman be elected to the office of Chairman of the Council for the municipal year 2017/18.

Councillor Mrs Chapman then read out and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

The newly-elected Chairman thanked Members for their support.

The outgoing Chairman thanked Councillor Mrs Chapman for her support in her role as Vice-Chairman, the Chairman's Personal Assistant, Mrs Bowater and the Governance Services Team for their help during his time as Chairman. He had been proud to represent the Council and to have raised funds for his chosen charities, in particular Diabetes UK.

It was moved, seconded and

RESOLVED

to place on record the Council's sincere thanks for the services rendered by Councillor David Bowater, the outgoing Chairman, in the discharge of the important and exacting duties of the office over the period from 21 May 2015 to 18 May 2017.

Councillor Bowater was then presented with a certificate.

C/17/3 Election of Vice-Chairman 2017/18

The Chairman invited nominations for the office of Vice-Chairman of the Council for the municipal year 2017/18. Councillor Brian Saunders was duly proposed and seconded. There were no other nominations.

RESOLVED

that Councillor Saunders be elected to the office of Vice-Chairman of the Council for the municipal year 2017/18.

Councillor Saunders then read out and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

Thereafter the Vice-Chairman thanked Members for their support.

C/17/4 Minutes

RESOLVED

that the minutes of the meeting held on 20 April 2017 be confirmed and signed by the Chairman as a correct record.

C/17/5 Members' Interests

None were declared.

C/17/6 Chairman's Announcements and Communications

The Chairman announced that her chaplain would be Reverend Stephen Nuth, St Mary Parish Church, Woburn. Her chosen charities for the upcoming year would be:

- Army Benevolent Fund (ABF) The Soldiers' Charity
- Bedfordshire Crime Beat
- Multiple Sclerosis Society

The Chairman then read out a short prayer.

C/17/7 Leader of the Council's Announcements and Communications

The Leader thanked Councillor Bowater for his excellent work during his term of office as Chairman. He also congratulated Councillors Mrs Chapman and Saunders on being elected as the new Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Council.

C/17/8 Questions, Statements and Deputations

The Chairman invited the public speaker to make his statement in accordance with the Public Participation Scheme.

Middle School Places and School Transport

Mr Adams raised concerns about school places planning serving the Fairfield Park area. He was concerned that the recent problems relating to middle school provision would continue through to the allocation of upper school places. He also enquired whether there were any plans to convert the schools in the area from three to two tiers.

The Executive Member for Education and Skills explained the situation that had arisen within the Etonbury Academy catchment area and the reason why this had happened. He apologised that this situation had occurred and confirmed that the Council was working to ensure those children that were unable to secure a place at Etonbury Academy were appropriately accommodated.

The schools within the BEST Trust had a different admissions criteria and the Council were working towards having a consistent admission criteria for the area to allow better planning. The Council would continue to liaise with parents and schools within the area.

C/17/9 Appointment of Members, Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen to Committees and other Council Bodies 2017/18

The Council considered a report outlining the requirements for Member appointments to committees and other Council bodies, including taking account of political proportionality.

RESOLVED

- 1. that the Council confirms for the municipal year 2017/18:
 - (a) the structure, size and terms of reference of the committees, sub-committees and joint committees set out in sections D1, E2 and J2 of the Council's Constitution; and
 - (b) the allocation of seats and substitutes to these and other bodies, as listed in Appendix A to the report, in accordance with the political balance rules where they apply.
- 2. that the appointment of individual Members and substitutes to committees and other bodies be approved in accordance with the nominations submitted by the political groups, as attached at Appendix A to the minutes;
- 3. that the appointment of at least 1 Member of the Council to the Central Bedfordshire Health and Wellbeing Board be approved, as attached at Appendix B to the minutes;
- 4. that the appointment of the Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of committees for the municipal year 2017/18 be approved in accordance with nominations as set out at Appendix C to the minutes:
- 5. to note that the following persons had been appointed to the Children's Services Overview and Scrutiny Committee as co-opted members with voting rights on education matters for the period May 2015 to the Annual Council Meeting in May 2019:
 - (a) Debbie Main, NORES (supporting Catholic education)
 - (b) David Morton, Church of England Diocesan
 - (c) Stephen Court, School Parent Governor
 - (d) Gillian Deans, School Parent Governor
 - (e) Emily Rowlands, School Parent Governor

Composition of the Executive and Scheme of Delegation of Executive Functions

The Council noted a report from the Leader of the Council setting out the composition of the Executive, including the names of the Councillors appointed to the Executive.

The report also confirmed that the Scheme of Delegation of Executive functions was set out at Part C3 of the Council's Constitution.

RESOLVED

- 1. to note that Councillor Carole Hegley remains the designated Lead Member for Children's Services;
- 2. that the composition of the Executive and the allocation of portfolios, as attached at Appendix D to the minutes, be noted; and
- 3. that the scheme of delegation of Executive functions, as set out at Part C3 of the Council's constitution, be noted.

C/17/11 Leader of the Council's Annual Report

The Leader presented his annual report celebrating successes over recent years and outlining plans for the future.

(Note: The meeting commenced at 6.30 p.m. and concluded at 7.39 p.m.)

Chairman
Dated